Kellogg News

New courses provide an immersive, analytical look into some of today’s most pressing global business issues.

Senior associate dean to lead business school as search for permanent dean continues

Summit brings together more than 800 alumnae, faculty and students for robust discussion on challenges women face.

Dean Sally Blount ’92 honored Roslyn M. Brock ’99, Ann M. Drake ’84 and Richard H. Lenny ’77

Experiential courses and individualized co-curricular programming provide the launch pad students need to tackle big issues

News & Events

Dipak Jain recognized as leading supporter of entrepreneurship

Ernst & Young honors Kellogg dean with award for his efforts, ‘reinvention’ of school’s mission

By Matt Golosinski

7/15/2008 - Kellogg School Dean Dipak C. Jain has earned the “Supporter of Entrepreneurship Award” from Ernst & Young, the global professional services firm.

Dean Dipak C. Jain, left, holding the “Supporter of Entrepreneurship Award” that he received June 26 from Ernst & Young. With him is Selim Bassoul ‘81, chairman and CEO of Middleby Corp., and one of the judges for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year program.
Photo courtesy of Ernst & Young
The recognition was bestowed at a June 26 gala at the Hilton Hotel in Chicago. Also honored was Kellogg graduate Patrick Ryan ’59, executive chairman of Aon Corp., who earned the “Lifetime Achievement Award.” Eight additional “category” awards in areas such as technology, commercial and consumer products, private equity, and turnarounds were also given. All the winners in this Midwest stage of the Ernst & Young competition will go on to be considered for the national finals, to be announced Nov. 15 in Palm Springs, Calif.

Dean Jain was recognized for his commitment to entrepreneurship and education, and for his leadership in helping “reinvent” the Kellogg School’s mission and strengthening its national reputation as a top management institution. Since becoming dean in 2001, Jain has made it a priority to continue building on the school’s success while also seeking new ways to meet the market’s demands for exceptional global leaders. In addition to bolstering the Kellogg School’s international brand and its worldwide alumni community, Jain has worked to keep the school’s entrepreneurial curriculum robust. One key way this objective is accomplished is through the many initiatives of the Larry and Carol Levy Institute for Entrepreneurial Practice.

But Jain has also worked with colleagues at Kellogg and across Northwestern University to create new academic offerings, including the Certificate Program for Undergraduates, as well as a variety of experiential courses, such as Buyout Lab, Medical Innovation Lab, Global Lab, the Asset Management Practicum, and Management Lab, among others.

Of particular note is the dean’s commitment to producing a curriculum that creates global leaders who are both successful and broadly significant in their careers and communities.

Said Randall Tavierne, Ernst & Young’s strategic growth markets leader for the Midwest: “We congratulate this year’s winners on their success. The Entrepreneur of the Year Award recognizes all of the hard work, ingenuity and care these leaders have put into building and improving their businesses and communities. This group of winners is truly remarkable for all that they have accomplished.”

For the last 22 years, Ernst & Young has recognized business leaders with the Entrepreneur of the Year Award, which strives to “encourage entrepreneurial activity among those with potential and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement,” according to the company’s Web site.