News & Events

Five Kellogg students were named 2014 Siebel Scholars. From left: Ann Kaplan, Scott Arnone, Otmane El Manser, Abhishek Gutgutia and Emily Johnson

2014 Siebel Scholars

Meet the 2014 Siebel Scholars

Five Kellogg students received the honor for leadership and academic excellence

10/15/2013 - Five Kellogg students were named Siebel Scholars for the 2013-2014 school year.

Each year, 85 graduate students from around the world are selected based on outstanding academic performance and leadership. Each receives a $35,000 award toward their final year of studies.

Kellogg's 2014 winners from the Full-Time Program are:

Ann Kaplan '14 was a management consultant with Oliver Wyman in Chicago prior to Kellogg, advising companies from a wide range of industries. It was a return to Northwestern, where she had earned a B.S. in Industrial Engineering and Economics. She serves as the President of Kellogg Worldwide Experience and Service Trip, which coordinates travel experiences for more than 700 incoming students and their partners. Ann also serves as the Technical Director for Kellogg’s live student production, Special K!, and as the co-President of Kellogg’s wine club, Cork & Screw. She interned this summer in Walgreens’ Merchandising Strategic Planning & Analysis group.

Scott Arnone '14 worked for the Department of Defense as a Program Manager in Foreign Military Sales before returning to business school, choosing a major on International Business. His B.S. in Economics and Certificate in Markets & Management came from Duke University. He participated in the U.S. Navy Leadership Development Program while at the Department of Defense. At Kellogg, he holds leadership positions as a Consulting Club Director and CIM Executive Team Leader. He worked as a Summer Associate at Bain & Company, focusing on organizational strategy in the healthcare industry.

Otmane El Manser '14, born and raised in Morocco, moved to France to pursue his engineering masters and worked as a consultant in Paris, most recently with Accenture. A passion for education led him to volunteer with an education NGO to develop and teach at a summer school program in the Philippines. At Kellogg, he serves on the board of education non-profit Minds Matter and led a consulting trip with Fabretto, an education NGO focused on Nicaragua. He also serves as the co-president of Kellogg Corps and the Ambassador program and careers VP for the emerging markets club. He is of the leadership team in charge of the organization of MOSAIC, Kellogg’s diversity celebration week. He is currently interning in a marketing strategy role at Dell in Austin.

Abhishek Gutgutia '14 switched his career from a technology path to one of entrepreneurship when he had to save his family’s 150-person agribusiness from near bankruptcy. After five years of juggling multiple functional roles with the company, a desire to deepen his knowledge base led him to Kellogg. He is a student leader in the Kellogg Innovation Network, Vice-President of Speakers in the entrepreneurship club, VP-Academics in the Kellogg Student Association and a member of the New Building Committee. He has put his experience to work by consulting a local startup and by finishing as a semi-finalist in the $100,000 KIN Global Prize. His summer internship is with DuPont’s Marketing Leadership Development Program.

Emily Johnson '14 came to Kellogg from Beam, Inc., where she led brand and innovation management for the cordials and value vodka portfolios. While there, she transformed Beam’s third largest brand by profit from years of declining sales to growth, through tactical use of brand investment dollars and innovative new products. She graduated Summa Cum Laude from Boston University’s School of Management, where she oversaw the teaching assistant program for the introduction to management course. At Kellogg, she serves as Vice President of Finance for the Kellogg Innovation and Design Association. She is also an active member of the Women’s Business Association, where she served as Director of External Relations.

Further reading
2013 Siebel Scholars

2012 Siebel Scholars

2011 Siebel Scholars