• close

Executive Speaker Series

Speaker Series Frank Cohen

Frank Cohen (center), Senior Managing Director of Blackstone’s Real Estate Group, joined a group of Kellogg students for lunch and discussed Blackstone’s strategy, his career, the state of the real estate markets, and provided career and investing advice. Also pictured at the head table are Sean O’Grady, President, Kellogg Real Estate Club (left), Craig Furfine, Clinical Professor of Finance (right) and students of the Kellogg Real Estate Club. 

Our executive speaker series was launched in May of 2004. Our inaugural speaker was Sam Zell. His presentation was attended by 25 students from the Kellogg Real Estate Club and several real estate faculty members. Dean Jacobs was also in attendance. The format then is much like it is today: Over lunch at the Allen Center, the executive provides an informal overview of their views on the commercial real estate market. This is followed by a question-and-answer period with the students and faculty. The series is a joint effort between the Kellogg Real Estate Program, Kellogg Real Estate Club, and the Guthrie Center for Real Estate Research.

The Kellogg Real Estate Executive Speaker Series provides our students an informal forum to exchange ideas with, and ask questions of, leading real estate executives. This interaction with key members of the real estate industry provides the students with varied and insightful perspectives on leadership, investment management, competition, personal development and other significant issues. The program also fosters positive relationships between key industry practitioners (and their company(ies)) and the Kellogg Real Estate Program.

We have been very fortunate to have hosted a distinguished roster of executive speakers:

2018-2019 Academic Year:

  • Bob Chodos, Vice Chairman, Newmark Knight Frank
  • Karen Case, President, US Commercial Real Estate, CIBC
  • Al Klairmont, President, Imperial Realty
  • Dave Scherer, Principal, Origin Investments
  • John Bucksbaum, Founder and Chairman, Bucksbaum Retail Properties

2017-2018 Academic Year:

  • Christi Graff, Partner, Winston and Strawn
  • Scott Goodman '84, Founding Principal, Farpoint Development
  • Chris Nolte '03, President, Marcus Investments
  • Carlos Valera '17, Principal, Gensler
  • Amy Diamond, Managing Director, Private Investments and Real Estate, Northwestern Investment Office
  • Kevin Hites, Chief Investment Officer, The John Buck Company
  • Dan Rosenbloom, Managing Director, Cadre

2016-2017 Academic Year:

  • Donald Dye '86, Founding Partner, Sky Lake Partners
  • Barry Malkin '88, Senior Managing Partner, GEM Realty Capital
  • Christopher Merrill, Co-Founder, President and CEO, Harrison Street Real Estate Capital
  • Eric Mogentale, Managing Principal, Walton Street Capital
  • Chaim Katzman, Chairman, Equity One

2015-2016 Academic Year:

  • Rich Monopoli '02, Head of Development, Boston Properties, NY Region
  • Curt Bailey, President, Related Midwest
  • K. Jay Weaver '95, Managing Principal, Walton Street Capital
  • Jeffrey Hines, President and CEO, Hines
  • Henry Bullock '80, Chairman and Founder, Menlo Equities

2014-2015 Academic Year:

2013-2014 Academic Year:

  • Soultana Reigle (NU '94), Principal, Prudential Real Estate Investors.
  • Frank Cohen (NU '95), Senior Managing Director, The Blackstone Group.
  • Robert Levy (NU '87), President and Chief Executive Officer, Centerline Capital Group.
  • Peter H. Schaff, Retired North America Chief Executive Officer, LaSalle Investment Management
  • Alasdair Cripps, Senior Managing Director, Mesirow Financial.

2012-2013 Academic Year:

  • David Helfand, Founder, Helix and Co-President, Equity Group Investments
  • Jerry Claeys, Non- Executive Chairman and an equity owner of Heitman (former Chairman and CEO of Heitman)
  • Ward Feste, Co-owner and President, Peregrine Group LLC
  • Christopher Merrill, Co-Founder, President and CEO of Harrison Street Real Estate Capital, LLC
  • John Parsons, Managing Director, MacGregor Associates

2011-2012 Academic Year:

2010-2011 Academic Year:

2009-2010 Academic Year:

  • Stephen Quazzo, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer - Transwestern Investment Company LLC
  • David Crowell, Chief Operating Officer - The Rise Group
  • Peter C. Roberts, Chief Executive Officer, Americas - Jones Lang LaSalle
  • Gwendolyn L. Butler (KSM '84), President and Chief Operating Officer, Capri Capital Partners
  • Gary F. Wendt (’93), Chief Executive Officer, Signature Resorts International 

2008-2009 Academic Year:

  • Casey Wold, Senior Managing Director Head of Midwest, Atlanta, Boston and Washington, D.C Regions - Tishman Speyer
  • Perry M. Pinto, Principal - Walton Street Capital L.L.C
  • Anthony Manno (NU '73), CEO, President and Chief Investment Officer - Security Capital Research & Management Inc.
  • C. Kevin Shannahan, Executive VP, Mid-west & Southeast Region - Hines
  • Bruce R. Cohen, Chairman of the Board and CEO - Wrightwood Capital

2007-2008 Academic Year:  

  • Lynn C. Thurber, Chairman – LaSalle Investment Management
  • John Kukral, President - Northwood Investors LLC
  • Donald Suter, Managing Principal and head - M3 Capital Partners
  • Gerald Fogelson, Founder and President, Fogelson Companies and Chairman and CEO, Central Station Development Corporation

2006-2007 Academic Year:

  • John Bucksbaum, Chief Executive Officer – General Growth Properties Inc., Chairman - International Council of Shopping Center’s Board of Trustees.
  • Bruce Duncan, Retired Chief Executive Officer and President – Equity Residential.
  • Jerry Claeys, Chief Executive Officer – Heitman
  • Gary Garrabrant, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder – Equity International

2005-2006 Academic Year:

  • Paul Beitler, President – The Beitler Company
  • Debra A. Cafaro, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer – Ventas, Inc.
  • Jack Higgins, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer – Higgins Development Partners
  • Leland Pillsbury (KSM '82), Chairman and Chief Executive Officer – Thayer Lodging Group Inc.
  • Geoffrey Dohrmann, Chief Executive Officer – Institutional Real Estate, Inc.
    John Schreiber, President – Centaur Capital Partners, Inc. and Co-Founder and Partner of Blackstone Real Estate Advisors, L.P.

2004-2005 Academic Year:

  • Neil Bluhm (NU Law '62) – Walton Street Capital
  • Jeffrey Schwartz, Chief Executive Officer – ProLogis
  • Stuart Scott (NU Law '64), formerly Chief Executive Officer – Jones Lang LaSalle
  • John Buck, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer – The John Buck Company

2003-2004 Academic Year:

  • Samuel Zell – Chairman - Equity Group Investments LLC

 We sincerely thank these industry leaders for enriching our students’ academic experience and for making this luncheon an undeniable success!

Kellogg Real Estate Program
2211 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
© Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University All Rights Reserved.
Kellogg Policies | Site Map