• close

2012 Salon Awards

Salon 2012Peter Zhang ‘12, a current Financial Economics student in the Kellogg Certificate Program for Undergraduates, was recognized for his academic excellence at the Salon 2012 in January.

The annual Salon series is hosted by David G. Kabiller ’87 for Northwestern alumni and supporters. Featuring renowned speakers from the fields of science, culture, sports, and politics, the Salon is a hub for the lively exchange of ideas that builds connections within the Northwestern community in New York.

This year’s event included an evening with Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, host of NovaScienceNow, Astrophysicist, Director of the Hayden Planetarium at the American Museum of Natural History in Manhattan and ranked by Time Magazine among the "most influential tweeters.”

The event also honored the recipients of the Salon Award, which is bestowed annually on two Kellogg students. Michael Chu ’12, a student in the MBA program, and Peter Zhang ’12, who is enrolled in Kellogg’s certificate program for undergraduates, were recognized for their academic excellence, commitment to the study of finance and potential to be leaders in the Northwestern alumni community. The students are chosen each fall by the Kellogg finance faculty.

Salon 2012 Awards
From left: Northwestern University President Morton Schapiro, Salon founder David Kabiller ’87, Salon Award winner Michael Chu ’12, undergraduate Salon Award winner Peter Zhang ’12 and Kellogg Dean Sally Blount
Certificate Program for Undergraduates
Kellogg School of Management
555 Clark Street, Lower Level
Evanston, IL 60208-2800