News & Events

The 2016 Siebel Scholars, from left, Scott Stewart, Mitchell Vainshtein, Alizeh Gangji, Rohan Rajiv, and Shane Parkhill, all '16.

2016 Siebel Scholars

Meet the 2016 Siebel Scholars

Five students honored for academic excellence and leadership

By Natalie Edwards

9/30/2015 - Every year, 93 graduate students from the world’s top graduate programs in business, computer science, bioengineering and energy science are selected to become Siebel Scholars. These students are chosen based on outstanding academic performance and leadership and receive a $35,000 award toward their final year of studies.

Kellogg's 2016 Siebel Scholars from the Full-Time Program are:

Alizeh Gangji ‘16
Committed to creating health care marketing solutions that improve business outcomes and patient lives, Gangji created a cancer support program for 3,000 patients, serves on the board of directors of autism nonprofit Have Dreams and is on the Cancer Research Institute Young Philanthropists Board. Gangji is also vice president of careers for the Kellogg Marketing Club and is a director of the Kellogg Marketing Conference. She recently completed a brand management internship at Johnson & Johnson. Prior to Kellogg, she specialized in brand strategy for pharmaceutical companies as a consultant at ZS Associates. She holds a degree in philosophy from Yale University.

Shane Parkhill ‘16
Parkhill is acting COO of Opticent Health, a medical device startup. Parkhill and Opticent recently won the $45,000 grand prize at Northwestern’s Venture Challenge. At Uber, Parkhill leads design and execution of a driver engagement campaign aimed at increasing retention and productivity. Parkhill is director of alumni relations for Kellogg’s Rugby Club. He has degrees in engineering and business from Ivey-Western in Canada. He graduated top of his class in engineering and is an Ivey Scholar. Previously, Parkhill worked at Bain & Company, in private equity commercial diligence, post-merger integration and process improvement.

Rohan Rajiv ‘16
Rajiv is focused on inspiring change by bringing together high-performing teams. He leads the High Tech club and the CIM-Exec team, which is responsible for orientation for incoming students. He also co-created Kellogg eChats, a series of Skype talks with top technology thought leaders. He also created “The Good Life Sessions,” which help students determine their values, mission and action plan. This summer, he interned with LinkedIn’s Business Operations team. Prior to Kellogg, he served clients on consulting projects across 14 countries. He blogs a learning every day on

Scott Stewart ‘16
Stewart is pursuing a dual Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in Design Innovation through Northwestern’s MMM Program. He serves as the vice president of academics for the Kellogg Student Association and plans events for the Real Estate club and Board Games clubs. Prior to Kellogg, Stewart worked as a consultant at Deloitte, where he helped insurance companies launch products and improve customer service capabilities. He is passionate about leveraging technology and design to improve lives. Stewart interned with CBRE in their real estate services group. He graduated from Northwestern University with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and a Kellogg Certificate in Managerial Analytics.

Mitchell Vainshtein ‘16
As president of the Kellogg Real Estate Club, Vainshtein spearheads efforts to connect students with top-tier developers and investment firms. Recently, he interned at Tishman Speyer, a global real estate investment firm, financing and planning large-scale development projects that revitalize urban neighborhoods. He received two fellowships to create urban planning strategies for the city of Moscow. Prior to Kellogg, Vainshtein worked at Insight Venture Partners investing in growth-stage companies and managing portfolio company strategy. He is on the board of directors of Northlight Theatre as a Kellogg Board Fellow. He graduated cum laude from Yale University with a degree from the Ethics, Politics & Economics honors program.

Meet past scholars: