Start of Main Content

Roger B. Myers

University of Chicago (Nobel Laureate 2007)

About the speaker

Roger B. Myerson is the Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago, where he has been teaching since 2001. He received his A.B., S.M. (1973), and Ph.D. (1976), all in mathematics, from Harvard University, and from 1976 to 2001 he was a professor of economics at Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Management.

Myerson is a co-winner of the 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics "for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory.” He holds an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Basel, he is the president elect and a Fellow of the Econometric Society, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and has served on major editorial boards of game-theory and economics journals.

Myerson is the author of two textbooks and over 80 scientific articles published by leading game theory, economics, operations, and political science journals. His contributions, as an economist, mathematician and political scientist, have had major impact on the foundations of cooperative and strategic game theory, auctions and mechanism design, bargaining, voting, and the design and performance of political institutions.

Contact us about the Nancy L. Schwartz Memorial Lecture series