Start of Main Content
purple background
Managerial Economics and Decision Sciences

Political Economy of Development Conference

September 16 - 17, 2023

Kellogg School of Management
Global Hub
2211 Campus Drive, Room 5101
Evanston, Illinois
**The Global Hub will be locked over the weekend. When you arrive, please see the intercom on the right side of the entrance doors and let the front desk know you are attending the Political Economy of Development Conference.**

Register Now

Parking available for both South (1847 Campus Drive) and North (2311 N. Campus Drive) campus parking garages. See parking map here.

Email Emily Schroeder
Managerial Economics & Decision Sciences and Operations Department

Political Economy of Development Conference

The Northwestern-UBC  Political Economy of Development Conference is hosted by the Managerial Economics & Decision Sciences Department at the Kellogg School of Management. We aim to explore topics at the intersection of Political Economy, Development Economics and Economics History that may not already have a natural forum of discussion. The conference will take place on September 16 - 17, 2023, in Evanston.

Conference Organizers:
Leander Heldring
, Northwestern University (Kellogg School of Management)
Nathan Nunn, The University of British Columbia (Vancouver School of Economics)
Nancy Qian, Northwestern University (Kellogg School of Management)
Felipe Valencia Caicedo, The University of British Columbia (Vancouver School of Economics)


September 16
Day 1: Political Economy

8:30am - 9:00am

Session 1:
9:00am - 10:00am
Stelios Michalopoulos (Brown University), "Movies" joint with Chris Rauh

10:00am - 10:15am
Coffee Break

Session 2:
10:15am - 11:15am
Guo Xu (Berkeley, Haas), "Strengthening State Capacity: Civil Service Reform and Public Sector Performance during the Gilded Age"

11:15am - 11:30am
Coffee Break

Session 3:
11:30am - 12:30pm
Martin Fiszbein (Boston University), "Frontier History and Gender Norms in the United States" (joint with Sam Bazzi, Abel Brodeur, and Joanne Haddad)

12:30pm  - 1:30pm
Lunch, Room 5101

Session 4:
1:30pm - 2:30pm
Benjamin Marx (Boston University), "Electoral Turnovers" (joint w/ Vincent Pons from HBS and Vincent Rollet from MIT)

2:30pm - 2:45pm
Coffee Break

Session 5:
2:45pm - 3:45pm
Sara Lowes (UCSD), "Fallow Lengths and the Structure of Property Rights" (with Etienne Le Rossignol and Eduardo Montero)

6:00pm Dinner: Lyra, 905 W Fulton Market, Chicago, IL

September 17
Day 2: Development

8:30am - 9:00am

Session 6:
9:00am - 10:00am
Arielle Berhnhart (NYU), "The Economics of Caste Norms: Purity, Status, and Women's Work in India"

10:00am - 10:15am
Coffee Break

Session 7:
10:15am - 11:15am
Elisa Macchi (Brown), "Work Rather than Just Cash: Informal Redistribution Among Employers and Workers in Kampala, Uganda"

11:15am - 11:30am
Coffee Break

Session 8:
11:30am - 12:30pm
Suresh Naidu (Columbia), "The Costs and Benefits of Guest Worker Programs: Experimental Evidence from the India-UAE Migration Corridor"


Siddhant  Agarwal,    Northwestern University
David    Almog,    Northwestern University
Nathalie    Basto Aguirre,    Northwestern University
Anke    Becker,    Harvard University
Arielle    Bernhardt,    NYU/ MIT
Christopher    Blattman,    University of Chicago
Giulia    Buccione,    Brown University
Guilherme    de Almeida Neri,    Northwestern University
Zakaria    El Amrani El Idrissi,    Northwestern University
Martin    Fiszbein,    Boston University
Jose    Flor Toro,   Northwestern University
Sanjana    Ghosh,    Northwestern University
Nathan    Haddon,    Northwestern University
Walker    Hanlon,    Northwestern University
Leander    Heldring,    Northwestern University
Shahadat    Hossain,    ACE-UIUC
Yu-Chi    Hsieh,    Northwestern University
Elizabeth    Jaramillo,    Northwestern University
Davis    Kedrosky,      Northwestern University
Sungjin    Kim,    Northwestern University
Lukas    Leucht,    UC Berkeley
Xueyan    Li,    Northwestern University
Sergio Eduardo    Lopez Araiza Bejar,    Northwestern University
Sara    Lowes,    UC San Diego
Elisa    Macchi,    Brown University
Keigo    Makino,    Northwestern University
Franco    Malpassi,    Northwestern University
Giacomo    Marcolin,    Northwestern University
Luis    Martinez,    University of Chicago
Benjamin    Marx,    Boston University
Carlo    Medici,    Northwestern University
Stelios    Michalopoulos,    Brown University
Joshua Mollner,    Northwestern University
Ameet    Morjaria,    Northwestern University
Gonzalo    Moromizato,    Northwestern University
Jacob    Moscona,    Harvard/MIT
Suresh    Naidu, Columbia    
Anoushka    Nalwa,    Northwestern University
Chuqiao    Nan,    Northwestern University
Nathan    Nunn,    University of British Columbia
Finley    Ong,    Northwestern University
Nancy    Qian,    Northwestern University
Nicola   Persico,  Northwestern University
Myera    Rashid,    Northwestern University
Niharika    Singh,    University of Notre Dame
Alireza   Tahbaz-Salehi,    Northwestern University
Thu    Tran,    Northwestern University
Felipe    Valencia Caicedo,    University of British Columbia
SILVIA    VANNUTELLI,    Northwestern University
Alina    Wang,    Northwestern University
Matthias    Weigand,    Harvard University
Guo    Xu,    Berkeley