Kellogg World Alumni Magazine Summer 2005Kellogg School of Management
In DepthIn BriefDepartmentsClass NotesClub NewsArchivesContactKellogg Homepage
Professor Kathleen Hagerty named senior associate dean
Profs. Dranove and Satterthwaite win best paper award
Kellogg recognizes contributions of key alumni, friends with annual awards dinner
Steven Rogers named professor of the year

'Nota Bene' lectures share eclectic faculty knowledge

Influential guest speakers bring leadership insights to Kellogg audiences

Reunion 2005: Traveling through time and space

Alumni newsmakers
Kellogg bestows more than 1,400 MBA degrees in 2005

Food for thought

Kellogg executive management portfolio brings special value to dentists
Alum gives back to help entrepreneurial peers through Kellogg program
New grads set record for class gift participation and funds raised
Address Update
Alumni Home
Submit News
Internal Site
Northwestern University
Kellogg Search

Steven Rogers named Professor of the Year

For the 13th time since he joined the Kellogg School faculty in 1995, Steve Rogers has won top professor honors.

The Gordon and Llura Gund Family Professor of Entrepreneurship has built a strong reputation as a dynamic classroom leader, and students in the full-time and part-time MBA programs again recognized his outstanding contribution to the Kellogg ranks by voting him the Lawrence G. Lavengood Outstanding Professor of the Year. It was the second time that Rogers has earned that particular distinction, the additional honors coming in the form of various other formal teaching awards, primarily for his classroom excellence in the Kellogg Executive MBA program.

Dean Dipak C. Jain announced the award on June 4 at Oh Be Joyful, the annual Kellogg recognition event.

The award, instituted in 1976 and voted on by graduating members of the full-time and part-time MBA programs, is the highest teaching award that Kellogg students can bestow on a Kellogg School faculty member. In 1994, the award was named in honor of Professor L.G. Gene Lavengood, who retired that year after more than 40 years on the Kellogg faculty.

"There are very few things that students can give a professor that are more important than the confirmation the education process is genuinely working," said Rogers, who is also clinical professor of management and finance and director of the Larry and Carol Levy Institute for Entrepreneurial Practice at the Kellogg School. "This is what the Lavengood award means to me. It is an absolute honor to receive such a prestigious award."

Rogers was one of five finalists for the award, a group that included Professors Linda Darragh (Finance), Julie Hennessy (Marketing), Sergio Rebelo (Finance) and Scott Schaefer (Management & Strategy).

- MG

©2002 Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University