Kellogg World Alumni Magazine Summer 2005Kellogg School of Management
In DepthIn BriefDepartmentsClass NotesClub NewsArchivesContactKellogg Homepage
Professor Kathleen Hagerty named senior associate dean
Profs. Dranove and Satterthwaite win best paper award
Kellogg recognizes contributions of key alumni, friends with annual awards dinner
Steven Rogers named professor of the year

'Nota Bene' lectures share eclectic faculty knowledge

Influential guest speakers bring leadership insights to Kellogg audiences

Reunion 2005: Traveling through time and space

Alumni newsmakers
Kellogg bestows more than 1,400 MBA degrees in 2005

Food for thought

Kellogg executive management portfolio brings special value to dentists
Alum gives back to help entrepreneurial peers through Kellogg program
New grads set record for class gift participation and funds raised
Address Update
Alumni Home
Submit News
Internal Site
Northwestern University
Kellogg Search
Schaffner award
© Nathan Mandell

Kellogg recognizes contributions of key alumni, friends with annual awards dinner

As it does each spring, the Kellogg School this year honored several alumni and friends whose efforts have played a special role in contributing to the school.

The awards ceremony occurred May 19 at the James L. Allen Center on the Evanston campus, where the honorees - nine in all - received one of three distinctions.

The Schaffner Award, established in 1984 and named for Joseph Schaffner, co-founder of the men's clothing store Hart, Schaffner & Marx, recognizes prominent alumni who have provided outstanding service to the Kellogg School. The Kellogg Alumni Service Award recognizes the efforts of graduates who have promoted Kellogg throughout the world and who have shown their commitment to the school's continued progress. The Friends of Kellogg School of Management is an award to honor those who, though not graduates of Kellogg, have loyally served the school over the years.

This year, Mark R. Goldston '78, chairman, president and CEO of United Online Inc., and John Gambs '74, former executive vice president, CFO and member of the management committee of The Charles Schwab Corp., were recipients of the Schaffner Award. Alumni Service Awards went to David P. Bornhoeft '72, president and CEO of the privately held investment firm Columbia Holdings; Andr�s Ib��ez '89, marketing professor and director of the MBA program at the School of Business at Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, and president and founder of Sales Rapp Collins Chile; Jai Jai Ramsey Greenfield '96, co-owner of Harlem Vintage and former vice president of the institutional equity division of Morgan Stanley; David F. Grohne '60, chairman of the board of Independence Tube Corp., which he also founded; and A. Charles Funai '80, vice president and CFO of Cummins Southern Plains Ltd.

Two Friends of Kellogg School of Management Awards were also bestowed. John F. Ferraro, vice chairman of client services at Ernst & Young, and H. Michael Mears, chief of human capital at the Central Intelligence Agency, each earned this recognition.

"The Kellogg School is proud of the efforts made by these valued members of our community," said Dean Dipak C. Jain. "Their important contributions are helping ensure that Kellogg remains in the top echelon of management leaders. We are grateful for their service and pleased to honor them with these special awards."

- MG

©2002 Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University