Kellogg World Alumni Magazine, Summer 2004Kellogg School of Management
In DepthIn BriefDepartmentsClass NotesClub NewsArchivesContactKellogg Homepage
New Kellogg associate dean delivering ‘the lift of a driving dream’
Laughter & Learning:
Reunion Weekend 2004
Kellogg School Executive Scholars Program hits its stride
Peter Peterson participates in New York Alumni Event
Graduation 2004: 'Have the courage to lead'

Kellogg joins Aspen Institute's Teaching Innovation Program

Nancy Barry wins 2004 Kellogg distinguished leadership award
Dusty Baker brings his managerial insights to Kellogg TMP students
Kellogg School conferences deliver leadership insights across many disciplines
Lee M. Hague Memorial Fund
Schwartz Memorial Lecture brings Nobel Laureate to Kellogg
GE Fund's commit-ment to diversity has bolstered Kellogg doctoral program
Oh Be Joyful honors Kellogg School's academic and staff excellence
Address Update
Alumni Home
Submit News
Internal Site
Northwestern University
Kellogg Search
Constantinos Skiadas, center, with deans Magee, Jain and Korajczyk
©Mary Hanlon
Constantinos Skiadas, center, with deans Magee, Jain and Korajczyk, was appointed the Harold L. Stuart Distinguished Professor of Finance.

Oh Be Joyful honors Kellogg School's academic and staff excellence

by Deborah Leigh Wood

The Kellogg School community gathered at the James L. Allen Center June 5 for Oh Be Joyful, the school's annual celebration of faculty and staff contributions and promotions.

Scott McKeon, senior lecturer in Managerial Economics and Decision Sciences (MEDS), received the coveted Lawrence G. Lavengood Professor of the Year Award from graduating students, who nominated a record-breaking 85 faculty members in the award's ninth year.

"It's a great honor to receive this award," McKeon said in a recent interview. "I am just trying to make good decisions in the classroom --- trying to put myself in the students' shoes and feel what the classroom experience is like for them."

  Professor Scott McKeon
© Nathan Mandell
Professor Scott McKeon, Lavengood Professor of the Year Award recipient.

Lavengood award finalists were Julie Hennessy (Marketing), Sergio Rebelo (Finance), Steven Rogers, (Management and Finance) and Scott Schaefer (Management and Strategy).

Oh Be Joyful also recognized:

Mark Satterthwaite, A.C. Buehler Professor in Hospital and Health Services Management and professor of strategic management, who recently was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

J. Peter Murmann, assistant professor of Management and Organizations, recipient of the 2004 Stanley Reiter Best Paper Award for his 2003 monograph, Knowledge and Competitive Advantage: The Coevolution of Firms, Technology, and National Institutions (Cambridge University Press).

Karl Schmedders (MEDS), Adriano Rampini (Finance), Anne Gron (Management and Strategy), Kent Grayson (Marketing), Victoria Medvec (MORS) and Sharon Novak (MEDS), recipients of the 2004 Chairs' Core Course Teaching Awards.

Lakshman Krishnamurthi (Marketing), Todd Pulvino (Finance), Hayagreeva Rao (MORS), Artur Raviv (Finance) and Sergio Rebelo (Finance), recipients of the Sidney J. Levy Teaching Awards, which honor those faculty who teach elective courses.

Sunil Chopra (MEDS) and Steven Rogers, chosen by EMP-55 and EMP-56 to receive the Outstanding Professor Award.

Artur Raviv and Sergio Rebelo, chosen by EMP-57 to receive the Outstanding Professor Award.

Brian Uzzi (MORS), who received the International Executive MBA teaching award for his classes at the School of Business and Management at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in China.

David Besanko (Management and Strategy), a finalist in the John D.C. Little Best Paper Award from Management Science.

Alice Tybout (Marketing), who received the Alumni Reunion Outstanding Professor Award.

The total intellectual output of the Kellogg School in 2003 resulted in 108 articles, 10 cases, 21 book chapters and 11 books.

Among the staff recognized for their contributions to the Kellogg School were:

Amanda Barlow, promoted to manager of network systems, Information Systems.

Michael Bechtel, promoted to assistant director, Alumni Relations.

Julie Israel, promoted to associate director of financial aid, Admissions.

Wendy Metter, promoted to associate director, Student Affairs.

Kathrine Mott, promoted to associate director, Admissions.

Daniel Rebac, promoted to manager of faculty and staff, Information Systems.

Michael Schaefer, promoted to outreach coordinator, Career Management Center.

Oh Be Joyful was hosted by Kellogg School Dean Dipak C. Jain, who said the anniversary of his tenure as dean, which began three years ago, coincides with this occasion.

"Kellogg is an extremely special place, and Oh Be Joyful is a true celebration of the Kellogg community and its remarkable achievements over the past year."

©2002 Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University