Kellogg World Alumni Magazine, Winter 2001Kellogg School of Management
In DepthIn BriefFaculty NewsClass NotesClub NewsArchivesContactKellogg Homepage
From the Dean
Vita and Bookshelf
Research: Deborah Lucas, Finance
Research: James Anderson, Marketing
Alumni Profile: Barbara Thomas, '79
Alumni Profile:
Andre Crump
, '91
Address Update
Alumni Home
Submit News
Internal Site
Northwestern University
Kellogg Search
Vita and Bookshelf

Walter J. McNerney Distinguished Professor of Health Industry Management David Dranove has been named director of the Kellogg School’s Center for Health Industry Market Economics (CHIME), a new research center that promotes business and public policy research on the health care and related industries.

In recognition of his outstanding contribution to marketing, Philip Kotler, the S.C. Johnson & Son Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, has been awarded this year’s Honorary Fellowship from the Chartered Institute of Marketing of Great Britain. Kotler is the first academic, and the first American, to have ever been awarded this fellowship.

A.Montgomery Ward Professor of Marketing Lakshman Krishnamurthi has received the Sidney Levy Teaching Award for 2001. He was also selected as Professor of the Year (2000) by students in the Kellogg-HKUST program. In addition, he contributed “Pricing Strategies and Tactics” to the Kellogg on Marketing textbook, and was named one of the top marketing scholars over the last decade in a survey of the leading six marketing research journals. Krishnamurthi also received the Donald R. Lehmann Award for being co-author (with Venky Shankar and Gregory Carpenter) of the outstanding dissertation-based article in the field of marketing research, published in the Journal of Marketing Research.

R. Mark McCareins, adjunct professor of business and antitrust law, has been named Chair of the Advisory Council of the Center for Interdisciplinary Studies at the Washington University School of Law.

In October, the Institute of Medicine awarded the Adam Yarmolinsky Medal to Walter McNerney in honor of McNerney’s three decades of service to the Institute as a “distinguished adviser.” McNerney is Kellogg’s Herman Smith Professor Emeritus of Health Policy.

J. Keith Murnighan, the Harold H. Hines Jr. Distinguished Professor of Risk Management, published The Art of High-Stakes Decision-Making: Tough Calls in a Speed-Driven World (John Wiley & Sons) in October.

J. Jay Gerber Distinguished Professor of Dispute Resolutions & Organizations Leigh Thompson has published “Primacy effects in justice judgments: Testing predictions from fairness heuristic theory” in Organization Behavior & Human Decision Processes, 85 (2), 189-210. In addition, she has published “Battle of the sexes: Gender stereotype confirmation and reactance in negotiations” in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 80 (6), 942-958. Thompson, along with co-authors L. Kray and A. Galinsky, won the best paper award at the International Association of Conflict Management, Cergy, France, in June, for their work titled “Reversing the gender gap in negotiations: An exploration of stereotype regeneration.”

©2001 Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University