2018 EXECUTIVE MBA

CONVOCATION CEREMONY

Northwestern Kellogg

Kellogg School of Management

2018 EXECUTIVE MBA

CONVOCATION CEREMONY

Saturday, December 8, 2018 Fourth Presbyterian Sanctuary 126 E Chestnut St, Chicago, IL 60611

Processional Faculty and Students

Welcome Greg Hanifee Associate Dean, Executive MBA Global Network

Opening Remarks Kathleen Hagerty Interim Dean, Kellogg School of Management

Convocation Address Cheryl Mayberry McKissack '89 Founder and CEO, Nia Enterprises, LLC

Student Address Charles O'Carroll '18 (EMBA cohort 110)

Andrew Skillern Weatherford '18 (EMBA cohort 111)

The J. Keith Murnighan Outstanding Professor Award in a Core or Advanced Course

Mitchell A. Petersen Glen Vasel Professor of Finance

Alexander Chernev Professor of Marketing Outstanding Professor in an Elective Course

José María Liberti Clinical Professor of Finance Joseph Jr. and Carole Levy Chair in Entrepreneurship

David Schonthal Clinical Associate Professor of Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Craig Wortmann Clinical Professor of Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Introduction of Graduates Colette Feldges Director, Executive MBA Program, Evanston

Steven Thompson Director, Executive MBA Program, Miami

Awarding of Diplomas Kathleen Hagerty

Interim Dean, Kellogg School of Management

Alma Mater OJ DeSouza '18 (EMBA cohort 110)

Recessional Faculty

Reception The Drake Hotel, Chicago

CONVOCATION SPEAKER

CHERYL MAYBERRY MCKISSACK '89 CEO & Founder at Nia Enterprises, LLC

Cheryl Mayberry McKissack '89 has a history of igniting growth by building world-class management teams, leading digital transformations, raising capital from investors and penetrating multicultural markets.

In her role as CEO of Nia Enterprises, McKissack propels revenue growth with a focus on entrepreneurial ventures and start-ups. In the past, she provided essential data to refine growth strategies for Fortune 500 firms, including L'Oréal, Mondelez (formerly Kraft) and Amtrak. McKissack founded Nia Enterprises, LLC to elevate marketing and growth strategies by delivering data-driven insights with an emphasis on multicultural audiences, including the African American and Latino communities.

After being recruited as COO and president of digital by the CEO and chairman of the board of Johnson Publishing Company (JPC) in 2013, McKissack helped revitalize the 72-year-old firm by leading digital transformations to spur sales growth. She generated increased revenue by implementing and selling a fair-market-price business model. She led the transformation of JPC from a print-oriented publisher of the iconic EBONY and JET magazines to a multifaceted print, digital and experiential media business focused on forging powerful emotional connections between consumers and brands via compelling storytelling. McKissack accepted the role of CEO for the newly minted Ebony Media Operations after the print and digital media portfolio was acquired by a private equity firm in 2016.

McKissack has an exemplary record of board service, and was the first African American woman member of the PrivateBank board of directors. During her tenure at PrivateBank, she successfully launched the governance program as chair and was vice chair of the compensation committee. She currently serves on the board of directors of The Deluxe Corporation. In those roles she successfully recruited a more diverse cadre of board members to elevate leadership through multiple perspectives. She also serves on several nonprofit boards, including the University of Chicago Medical Center, Shedd Aquarium, Chicago Library Foundation and the Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation.

McKissack earned a bachelor's degree in political science from Seattle University and an MBA from the Kellogg School of Management.

OUR GRADUATES

EMBA COHORT 110

Karthik Amirtharajan	Phillip Michael Goodwin	Jonathan Zal Oomrigar
George Badillo	Stephen Michael Groppel	Fabiana Limena Coleoni
Mario D. Ball	Benjamin Guerrero	Timothy J. Ozinga
Aaron Michael Brown	T. Claude Hauser	Sravan Pappu
Michael Calabro	Rohini Hebbar	Bobby Paul
Oralia Castaneda	Shawn Henderson	Gregory J. Povenski, Jr.
Bruno Castro	Brittany Hizer	Stacy J. Ratner
Alan Cheng	Sylvia Jacob	Matthew Reneau
Dustin Childers	Abril Elena Jimenez-Diaz	Brian Sarchett
Sonam Chouksey	Inder Deep Kaur	Debra B. Selip
David Mark Courtney	John Patrick Keating	Dan Sidney
Thomas Patrick Daly III	Tejas Sureshbhai Kheradiya	Anthony J. Sieh
Lopamudra Das Roy	Freddie Kim	Godson Sowah
Julie Lenore Daugherty	Jenny Klinger	Eric Suddarth
OJ DeSouza	Kohposh Kuda	Santhanam Suresh
Tamakia J. Edwards	Marcus Alvarez Lehman	Samantha Sher Thaver
Katie Eng	Marco A. López	Vic Thomas
John P. Farley	Neela Marnell	Brandon R. Walker
Tim Fleming	Gülden Mesara-Dogan	Ryan James Walker
Bryan French	Heather Isabel Murray	Julie Ann Weber Ugarte
Adam Robert Gerstmeier	Timothy Sean O'Brien	Chet White
Erik Goerke	Charles O'Carroll	Eli Ivan Yaremenko

EMBA COHORT 111

Rafique O. Anderson, Esq. Marlos Barbosa George L. Bibbs, Jr. Aaron Bruneau Felipe Cáceres Dwayne Michael Cambra Ana Maria Casas Erik Castillo Vasquez Ignacio Castro Foulkes Will Conway Thiago Augusto Cordeiro Didier A. Demesmin A. Felipe Echavarria Fernando Espinosa Carol K. Fan David Austin Fowles Jorge A. Garcia Tunon Alvarez Sheetal Gotpagar

Guy Gotslak Jeffrey Burt Greenbarg Nina Parker Harding John P. Harrison Joseph Charles Jernigan Danny L. Johnson Raghu Reddy Galin Kozarov Chad Michael Lane Eric Julian Lopez Pamela Luque Bustamante Manuel V. Magallanes Amun Makani Andro Mandakovic Praveen Medabalmi Arthur Allen Morton Hymanand Nellore Isio Nelson

Marco Perez Sivakumar Ponnambalam Carla Sarkis Teixeira Amit Shah Fernando Silveira Gregory Syvertson Anupam Vats Gray Videnka Cecilia Villa Oscar Villamonte Nicole C. Vorkapic Brighton Wang Andrew Skillern Weatherford Constance C.R. White Steven C. Williamson Chris Woods

NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY ALMA MATER

QUÆCUMQUE SUNT VERA

Quæcumque sunt vera, Proba, justa, mera, Omnia haec dona, Præbes nobis bona, Alma Mater cara, Benedicta, clara, Celsa in honore Nostro et amore! Amen.

Mater O benigna, Præstans tu et digna; Custos juventutis, Fida dux virtutis; Gratias agentes, Pie reverentes; Peni tus amamus Deo te mandamus.

LEADER, GRADUATES AND GUESTS

Hail to Alma Mater, We will sing thy praise forever.

All thy sons and daughters, Pledge thee victory and honor.

Alma Mater, praise be thine, May thy name forever shine.

Hail to purple, hail to white, Hail to thee Northwestern.

Northwestern | Kellogg