Exit mail using the "q" command
Using the q command tidies up your mailbox:
- Messages you have read are moved to a file called
mbox in your home directory.
- Messages you have deleted are removed from your mailbox.
- Any messages that have not been read or deleted are retained in your
mailbox and marked as unread.
- Messages that have been explicitly saved to a file other than mbox are