Kellogg News

Senior associate dean to lead business school as search for permanent dean continues

Summit brings together more than 800 alumnae, faculty and students for robust discussion on challenges women face.

Dean Sally Blount ’92 honored Roslyn M. Brock ’99, Ann M. Drake ’84 and Richard H. Lenny ’77

Experiential courses and individualized co-curricular programming provide the launch pad students need to tackle big issues

Kellogg supports marketers at every stage of their career

News & Events

Students name Sergio Rebelo and Julie Hennessy professor of the year

Finance and marketing experts earn Lavengood Award; annual recognition results in unprecedented tie for top Kellogg teaching honor

By Matt Golosinski

6/1/2007 - When it comes to teaching excellence, Kellogg students are seeing double.

For the first time ever, two Kellogg School professors will each enjoy the honor of being designated teacher of the year.

An annual survey conducted to solicit Kellogg students’ choice for top professor in the Full- and Part-Time MBA Programs has resulted in a perfect tie this year. As a result, both Sergio Rebelo and Julie Hennessy have been named the Lawrence G. Lavengood Professor of the Year for 2007. The results were announced June 1 during a student-faculty social event held at the Donald P. Jacobs Center in Evanston.

Other finalists for the Lavengood Award this year were Ben Jones, assistant professor of management and strategy; Tim Thompson, senior lecturer in finance; and Jose Maria Liberti, visiting assistant professor of finance. Demonstrating the depth of Kellogg teaching excellence, students nominated an additional 82 faculty members for professor of the year honors. Kellogg Executive MBA Program students also identified their choices for “Outstanding Professor of the Year,” bestowing the honor on Rebelo for the electives course in each of the two current EMBA sections, EMP-65 and EMP-66. The Outstanding Professor in the core courses for EMP-65 is Michael Fishman, the Norman Strunk Distinguished Professor of Financial Institutions. Earning the award from EMP-66 for its core curriculum is Tim Calkins, clinical professor of marketing.

In announcing the results, Sunil Chopra, senior associate dean: curriculum and teaching, said, “These five outstanding professors were nominated out of 87 total professors, so they must be the top stars. It is a great source of pride for Kellogg that we have all these talented professors.”

Rebelo, the Tokai Bank Distinguished Professor of International Finance and former chair of the Kellogg Finance Department, is an expert in macroeconomics who arrived at Kellogg in 1988 after earning his doctorate in economics from the University of Rochester. Hennessy, a 1982 graduate of the Kellogg School, is clinical professor of marketing and an expert in marketing strategy. She joined Kellogg in 1997.

Both professors have previously been recognized for their teaching: Rebelo has been a finalist for the Lavengood Award each year from 2001 through 2005 and earned the Sidney J. Levy Teaching Award in 2003. In addition, he was designated a top professor in the Kellogg Executive MBA Program from 2002 through 2005. In May, he also garnered the Alumni Professor of the Year Award, bestowed during the annual Kellogg Reunion. Hennessy has been a finalist for the Lavengood Award in 2004 and 2005, and she previously won the Chairs’ Core Course Teaching Award for Marketing in 2000, 2002 and 2005.

In accepting the award, Rebelo, standing alongside Hennessy, quipped: “We did not expect this ‘beauty and the beast’ theme.” He went on to express his gratitude for the award, saying, “It is a great honor to teach you.”

Hennessy said, “Our award comes every day we step into the classroom with you.”

An expert in macroeconomics and international finance who has studied the cause of business cycles, exchange rate devaluations and speculation episodes, Rebelo has earned distinctions for his research and has been a member of the editorial board of various journals, including the American Economic Review, the European Economic Review, and the Journal of Monetary Economics. He is also a fellow of the Econometric Society, the National Bureau of Economic Research and of the Center for Economic Policy Research. Rebelo has served as a consultant to The World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the European Central Bank, the McKinsey Global Institute, and other organizations.

Hennessy is a Kellogg School graduate whose expertise is marketing and strategy with the goal of enhancing long-term competitive advantage and profitability. She has a variety of teaching and consulting experience, including with firms such as Hewlett-Packard, Microsoft and Samsung. She also has operated her own consulting firm, Hennessy Associates, since 1998. Previous professional roles include leadership positions at Kraft Foods Inc. (1986-1997) and General Mills (1982-1986).

The professor of the year award, bestowed each year since 1975, was renamed in 1994 in honor of Professor Lawrence Lavengood, a member of the Kellogg School faculty for more than 40 years. Lavengood, professor emeritus of business history and ethics, died in July 2006.