Kellogg News

New courses provide an immersive, analytical look into some of today’s most pressing global business issues.

Senior associate dean to lead business school as search for permanent dean continues

Summit brings together more than 800 alumnae, faculty and students for robust discussion on challenges women face.

Dean Sally Blount ’92 honored Roslyn M. Brock ’99, Ann M. Drake ’84 and Richard H. Lenny ’77

Experiential courses and individualized co-curricular programming provide the launch pad students need to tackle big issues

News & Events

Steven Rogers again wins Professor of the Year

Annual Oh Be Joyful! celebration recognizes Kellogg School faculty and staff standouts

By Matt Golosinski

6/1/2005 - There was nothing lucky, or unlucky for that matter, about Steve Rogers winning top professor honors for the 13th time since he joined the Kellogg School faculty in 1995.

The Gordon and Llura Gund Family Professor of Entrepreneurship has consistently worked hard and built a strong reputation as a dynamic classroom leader, and this year his students again recognized his outstanding contribution to the Kellogg ranks by delivering the latest in a string of awards to a professor known for his engaging, demanding teaching style.

Dean Dipak C. Jain announced the Lawrence G. Lavengood Professor of the Year on June 4 at Oh Be Joyful!, the annual Kellogg event that formally acknowledges the school's exemplary faculty and staff members. The award, instituted in 1976 and voted on by graduating members of the full-time and part-time MBA programs, is the highest teaching award that Kellogg students can bestow on a Kellogg School faculty member. In 1994, the award was named in honor of Prof. L.G. Gene Lavengood, who retired that year after more than 40 years on the Kellogg faculty.

Though he has accumulated more than a dozen such awards - 11 from his work in the Kellogg School's Executive MBA Program and another Lavengood award dating from the 1996-1997 school year - Rogers expressed his delight at receiving this latest distinction.

"There are very few things that students can give a professor that are more important than the confirmation the education process is genuinely working," said Rogers, who is also clinical professor of management and finance and director of the Larry and Carol Levy Institute for Entrepreneurial Practice at the Kellogg School. "This is what the Lavengood award means to me. It is an absolute honor to receive such a prestigious award."

Rogers, who specializes in entrepreneurship studies, praised the quality of the Kellogg School's MBA students. "I truly love to teach at Kellogg because it gives me the opportunity to instruct brilliant students who are the 'best of the best' and to contribute to their development as the world's future leaders - not only in the business world but also in the nonprofit, political and social enterprise sectors."

Rogers was one of five finalists for the Lavengood award, a group that included Professors Linda Darragh (Finance), Julie Hennessy (Marketing), Sergio Rebelo (Finance) and Scott Schaefer (Management & Strategy).

In addition, Oh Be Joyful! recognized a number of other faculty for their teaching and research excellence. Staff and faculty also were highlighted for their overall service to the Kellogg School.

Said Dean Jain: "Oh Be Joyful! is a wonderful Kellogg School tradition that enables us, as a community, to celebrate our successes from the past year. Once again, our faculty and staff have demonstrated the dedication, skill and passion that enables Kellogg to deliver excellence on so many levels throughout our school. We are fortunate to have such high-caliber talent working together to bring about an unparalleled educational experience for our students."