Kellogg News

New courses provide an immersive, analytical look into some of today’s most pressing global business issues.

Senior associate dean to lead business school as search for permanent dean continues

Summit brings together more than 800 alumnae, faculty and students for robust discussion on challenges women face.

Dean Sally Blount ’92 honored Roslyn M. Brock ’99, Ann M. Drake ’84 and Richard H. Lenny ’77

Experiential courses and individualized co-curricular programming provide the launch pad students need to tackle big issues

News & Events

Professor Joel Shalowitz named 2003-2004 Fulbright Scholar

2/1/2004 - Joel Shalowitz, Kellogg School professor and director of the Health Industry Management program, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture at York University in Toronto, Canada, during the 2003-2004 academic year.

Shalowitz is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel to some 140 countries this academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program, established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Sen. J. William Fulbright of Arkansas.

Shalowitz will be teaching a course in international health systems at York this semester. From April through-July he will reside in Toronto to learn more about the Canadian healthcare system and help York develop a health industry management major in the business school. He also will be involved in developing executive education courses in the industry.

The purpose of the Fulbright Program is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries. The program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. In its 56 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have studied, taught or done research in other countries, and thousands of their counterparts in other countries have engaged in similar activities in the U.S.

Since its inception, the Fulbright grant has been awarded to more than 250,000 American and foreign university students, grade-school teachers, university faculty and professionals.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and extraordinary leadership potential in their fields. Past Fulbright Scholars include Milton Friedman, Nobel Laureate in Economics; James Watson, co-discoverer of the structure of DNA and Nobel Laureate in Medicine; Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, CEO of Intel Corp.