News & Events

Christie Nordhielm Named L.G. Lavengood Professor of the Year for 2003

6/1/2003 - The student Graduate Management Association (GMA) and Evening Management Association (EMA), the Office of Student Affairs, and the Office of the Dean are pleased to announce that Kellogg School Professor Christie Nordhielm of the Department of Marketing has been named the L.G. Lavengood Professsor of the Year for 2003. The award, voted on by the graduating members of the full-time and part-time MBA programs, is the highest teaching award that Kellogg students can bestow on a Kellogg School faculty member. The award was announced at the Dean's Honors Dinner on June 1.

Professor Nordhielm was one of five finalists, a group that also included professorsJulie Hennessy (Marketing), Scott McKeon (Managerial Economics and Decision Sciences), Sergio Rebelo (Finance), and Steve Rogers (Finance). The five finalists were selected from a group of 71 Kellogg professors who were nominated for the award by graduating Kellogg students. Professor Nordhielm, who teaches the core marketing class in both the full-time and part-time programs, is praised by her students as a demanding and challenging teacher who is passionate about her craft of teaching and cares deeply about her students' learning.

Since 1976, the Professor of the Year has been awarded by members of Kellogg's graduating class. In 1994, the award was named in honor of Professor L.G. Gene Lavengood on the occasion of his retirement from the Kellogg School faculty. Lavengood, a member of the Kellogg faculty for over 40 years, was a teaching legend at Kellogg and won the Professor of the Year award in 1976. Current Kellogg faculty members who have received the award in the past include Brian Sternthal (1982), Lawrence Revsine (1983), Robert Dewar (1987), David Besanko (1995), Timothy Thompson (1996), Steve Rogers (1997), Mohan Sawhney (1998), Todd Pulvino (1999), Mitchell Petersen (2000), Daniel Diermeier(2001), and last year's recipient, Karl Schmedders.

In keeping with the tradition of the award, Professor Nordhielm will be the featured faculty speaker at Kellogg School of Management commencement ceremonies for the full-time and part-time MBA programs on Saturday, June 21.