Kellogg News

Senior associate dean to lead business school as search for permanent dean continues

Summit brings together more than 800 alumnae, faculty and students for robust discussion on challenges women face.

Dean Sally Blount ’92 honored Roslyn M. Brock ’99, Ann M. Drake ’84 and Richard H. Lenny ’77

Experiential courses and individualized co-curricular programming provide the launch pad students need to tackle big issues

Kellogg supports marketers at every stage of their career

News & Events

L.G. Lavengood Professor of the Year, Karl Schmedders, has been characterized by his students as “endlessly enthusiastic and unlimited in his accessibility."

Professor Karl Schmedders Named L.G. Lavengood Professor of the Year for 2002

5/24/2002 -

The student Graduate Management Association (GMA) and Evening Management Association (EMA), the Office of Student Affairs, and the Office of the Dean are pleased to announce that Kellogg School Professor Karl Schmedders of the Managerial Economics and Decision Sciences Department has been named the L.G. Lavengood Professsor of the Year for 2002. The award, voted on by the graduating members of the Full-time and Part-time programs, is the highest teaching award that the Kellogg students can bestow on a Kellogg School faculty member and was announced at the Deans Honors Dinner on Friday evening, May 24. Professor Schmedders was one of five finalists, a group that also included professors Scott McKeon (MEDS), Scott Schaefer (Management and Strategy), Sergio Rebelo (Finance), and Steve Rogers (Finance). The five finalists were selected from a group of 49 Kellogg professors who were nominated for the award by graduating Kellogg students. Professor Schmedders, who teaches the core statistics class, DECS 434, in both the Full-time and Part-time programs, was characterized by his students as “passionate about his subject” and “endlessly enthusiastic and unlimited in his accessibility."

The Professor of the Year has been awarded for over twenty-five years by members of Kellogg’s graduating class. In 1994, the award was named in honor of Professor L.G. “Gene” Lavengood on the occasion of his retirement from the Kellogg School faculty. Lavengood, a member of the Kellogg faculty for over 40 years, was a teaching legend at Kellogg and won the Professor of the Year award in 1976, the second year of its inception. Current Kellogg faculty members who have won the award in the past include Brian Sternthal (1982), Lawrence Revsine (1983), Robert Dewar (1987), Vefa Tarhan (1990), David Besanko (1995), Timothy Thompson (1996), Steve Rogers (1997), Mohan Sawhney (1998), Todd Pulvino (1999), Mitchell Petersen (2000), and last year's recipient, Daniel Diermeier.

In keeping with the tradition of the award, Professor Schmedders will be the featured faculty speaker at Kellogg School of Management Commencement ceremonies on Saturday, June 22.