Kellogg Home
Aug 22, 2019

Posted on
Jan 28 2010

On Saturday, January 23, 2010, a group of Kellogg students undertook training to prepare them to receive LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) accreditation. LEED is a third-party certification program, developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, and is the nationally accepted benchmark for the design, construction and operation of high performance “green” buildings.

Buildings may be certified at four levels: basic certification, silver, gold and platinum. LEED promotes a whole-building approach to sustainability by recognizing performance in five key areas of human and environmental health: sustainable site development, water savings, energy efficiency, materials selection and indoor environmental quality.

State and local governments across the country are adopting LEED for public-owned and public-funded buildings. There are LEED initiatives in many federal agencies, and LEED projects are in progress in 41 different countries.

Real estate professionals who attain the required level of knowledge of the LEED rating system can become LEED accredited by passing a comprehensive exam. LEED accredited professionals are professionals who have demonstrated a thorough understanding of green building practices and principles, and familiarity with LEED requirements, resources and processes. There are three levels of LEED accreditation, Green Associate, LEED AP, and LEED AP Fellow. Current students who are not currently involved in work on LEED properties are eligible for the Green Associate level of accreditation.

The course at Kellogg was sponsored by the Jack and Goldie Wolfe-Miller Fund. The course provider was Everblue Energy, Inc., a veteran-owned business that provides various types of LEED training courses.

About the Author

This article was written by Denise Akason.