• close

Scholarship and Award Opportunities


Lee M. Hague Award for Evening & Weekend and Second-Year Students

The Kellogg School of Management is pleased to announce the Lee M. Hague Memorial Award, intended to further the preparation of Kellogg students for careers in the media by enabling them to investigate a particularly challenging or emerging facet of the media.

Approximately $4,500 is awarded annually as a reimbursement of media management project expenses to a second-year student or group of second-year students.

  • Preference will be given to students with high-impact projects and/or a demonstrated commitment to a career in the media industries.
  • Students can apply individually or as a group.
  • Projects may build on work in previous or current classes.
Project Guidelines

Projects will be done as part of an independent study in Media Management (MEDM 499). Students will be required to enroll in the course and secure a supervising professor.

Projects may be completed in winter or spring quarter 2017. Project deliverables include a final paper as well as a summary presentation given to the student’s supervising professor and Senior Associate Dean of Curriculum and Teaching.

Application Process

Applications must include the following: Resume(s) of the applicant(s), email (if applying as a group, a primary contact email is required), and phone numbers (again, if applying as a group, a primary contact phone number is required).

  • Summary of the topic the student(s) will work on, including a description of the project and an explanation of why the project would be of interest to media executives.
  • The timetable for completion and delivery of the project.
  • Budget of anticipated project costs which may include travel and lodging (toward gathering expert interviews or performing field research), data purchases, books or other materials, etc.

Applications must be received by 5pm November 1, 2016. Submit applications by email to seniorassociatedeans@kellogg.northwestern.edu. Award winners will be chosen and notified by December 1, 2016.

About Lee M. Hague

This award is named in honor of Lee Hague, who received his undergraduate business degree from Northwestern in 1968 and his master’s from Kellogg in 1973. He was an enthusiastic and loyal supporter of the Kellogg School of Management and served on the Kellogg Alumni Advisory Board until his untimely passing.

The Lee M. Hague Memorial Fund is a permanent endowment that will benefit Kellogg students with an interest in Media Management. This gift was established in Mr. Hague’s honor by Joseph Field, founder and chairman of Entercom Communications Corp., one of the largest radio broadcasters in the country. Mr. Hague served with distinction for 23 years on the Board of Directors of Entercom and was integral in the process of taking the company public in 1999.

McGowan Fellows Program for Second-Year Students

The McGowan Fellows Program was established in 2010 to create a select community of highly talented, young business leaders who are dedicated to ethical leadership and public service. Over time, the Fellows can exert significant influence toward the betterment of society and the workplace.

The William G. McGowan Charitable Fund partners with ten top business schools to select ten Fellows annually. Kellogg School of Management is charged with selecting one second-year MBA student who demonstrates highest academic excellence, leadership potential and dedication to public service. 

The scholarship provides full tuition for their second year of MBA study, a mentor chosen by their home school, and lifelong membership in the Community of Fellows.

McGowan Fellows are Required to:

  • Attend McGowan Symposium on Business Leadership and Ethics held at one of the participating schools.
  • Participate in a group project over the Fellowship year which requires 2-3 hours a week.
  • Attend a spring working retreat
  • Engage meaningfully with a mentor

McGowan Fellows Criteria:

  • Students must have:
    • Completed their first year of MBA study
    • Achieved an academic ranking in the top 5% of their class
    • Demonstrated leadership and a dedication to ethical leadership and social betterment
    • Agreed to receive mentoring from a Kellogg-assigned executive-level business leader

A selection committee comprised of Kellogg faculty and administrators will select the McGowan Fellow. 

Read more information about the William G. McGowan Charitable Fund.

Siebel Scholars Program for Second-Year Students

The Siebel Scholars Program was established in 2000 by Thomas M. Siebel, the CEO of Siebel Systems, to recognize outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership in students from the nation’s most prestigious educational institutions. Institutions include the Kellogg School of management, Wharton, MIT, Stanford, Carnegie Mellon and Harvard Business School.

The purpose of the Siebel Scholars Program is to create future leaders in the fields of engineering and business so they will have the opportunity to directly influence the scientific inventions as well as the policy and economic decisions that shape our future.

The scholarship provides an award of $35,000 for a minimum of five second-year MBA students.

Use of the Award:

  • Awards are designed to cover the costs of the recipient’s second year
  • Can cover student research expenses
  • Any excess can be used for recipient purposes such as repaying education indebtedness, future research and career advancement
  • A selection committee comprised of Kellogg faculty and administrators will select the Siebel Scholars. Read more information about the Siebel Scholars Program.