Center for Research in Technology and Innovation
Tech Center Home
About the Center
Faculty and Staff
MBA Program
Executive Education
Outreach Initiatives
Kellogg Innovation Network
Kellogg Technology Network
Internal Site
Northwestern University
Professor Mohan Sawhney
McCormick Tribune Professor of Technology Mohanbir Sawhney (right), director of the Center for Research in Technology and Innovation, at the 2007 KIN Summit  Photo © Nathan Mandell
June 2007 KIN Summit Information
Welcome Letter (PDF 64 KB)
Event Agenda (PDF 134 KB)
Event Recap (PDF 349 KB)
Speaker Bios and Presentations
Photo Gallery
Kellogg Media Coverage
Kellogg Innovation Network Annual Summit
June 18-19, 2007

The Kellogg Innovation Network (KIN) Summit 2007, held at Northwestern University’s James L. Allen Center in Evanston, was a tremendous success thanks to the involvement and support of KIN attendees. The summit’s focus, Lost in Transition: Innovating for Market Success, dealt primarily with identifying the challenges and issues related to scaling and transition across a wide spectrum of industry practices. Top executives from BP, Caterpillar, DuPont, Chamberlain Group, Raytheon and others shared their experiences with managing innovations’ disruptions and opportunities with academics from Kellogg’s Center for Research in Technology & Innovation (CRTI).

Over a two day course, executives and academics participated in interactive lectures, dynamic breakout sessions and networking, which focused on turning innovation into real products and services by bolstering delivery systems — supply chains, channels, sales teams and support infrastructures. KIN members, Albert Manzone, president of shelf-stable juices at PepsiCo, and Jim O’Connor, corporate vice president of technology and acceleration at Motorola, delivered executive perspectives on the inner-workings of innovation at their respective companies. Jeffrey Ernstoff, former creative director of Radio City Music Hall and former producer of Super Bowl half-time shows, provided his unique view into the creative process during an innovation-themed dinner program.

Robert C. Wolcott, adjunct assistant professor of innovation & entrepreneurship and co-founder of the KIN, closed the event by emphasizing the importance of maintaining a dialog on the scaling and transition challenges, as the findings directly inform the CRTI’s research.

A special thanks to this year’s attendees:

Farhan Ahmad, Discover Financial Services
Inigo Arroniz, University of Cincinnati
Mark Augustyniewicz, The Boeing Company
Lisa Autenreith, British Petroleum
Craig Bradley, Kellogg School of Management, NU
Denis Browne, SAP Labs, LLC
Randel Brumm, ABN Amro
Peter Bryant, TransTech USA
Jayme Canton, Institute for Global Futures
Carl Carlson, Raytheon Company
Rick Cloyd, Caterpillar, Inc.
John Cogliandro, Raytheon Company
Mike Collins, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Jeffrey Ernstoff, Ernstoff Creative
Bill Fluharty, Johnson Controls, Inc.
Dennis Glenn, School of Communication, NU
Betsy Holden, Consultant, Dean’s Advisory Board
Beth Horowitz, Discover Financial Services
Jeff Jansma, Herman Miller
Mark Jeffery, CRTI, Kellogg School of Management, NU
Mark Karasek, Chamberlain Group
Seema Kumbhat, McKesson Corporation
Alan Landry, Raytheon Company
Jennifer Larson, SC Johnson & Son, Inc.
Nelson Levy, Core Techs
Michael Lippitz, CRTI, Kellogg School of Management, NU
Dave Mack, Chamberlain Group
Albert Manzone, PepsiCo
George Mavko, Raytheon Company
Blythe McGarvie, Leader for International Finance, LLC
Barry Merkin, Kellogg School of Management, NU
Jim Mitchell, Hospira, Inc.
Scott Mordell, Chamberlain Group
Fabienne Munch, Herman Miller, Inc.
Rod Nelson, Schlumberger
Susan Nickles, Caterpillar, Inc.
Geoff Nudd, Intellectual Property Capital Group
Jim O’Connor, Motorola, Inc.
Plamen Petrov, Blue Cross Blue Shield
Toby Redshaw, Motorola, Inc.
Pat Rooney, Chamberlain Group
Mohan Sawhney, CRTI, Kellogg School of Management, NU
Lloyd Shefsky, Shefsky & Froelich
Baldev Singh, Motorola, Inc.
Steve Weyl, Intellectual Property Capital Group
Joe Wheeler, Irving Oil
Scott Whitaker, Kellogg School of Management, NU
Robert C. Wolcott, CRTI, Kellogg School of Management, NU
David Yake, E.I. du Pont Canada Company

©2006 Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University