Conflict & Cooperation Conference
April 25-26, 2011
Presented by the Ford Motor Company for Global Citizenship and the Managerial and Economics Decision Sciences Department

Location (Monday afternoon):
Hardin Hall
Rebecca Crown Center
Northwestern University
633 Clark Street
Evanston, IL 60208
Campus Map / Directions

Location (Tuesday):
Guild Lounge
Scott Hall
Northwestern University
601 University Place
Evanston, IL 60208
Campus Map / Directions

Conference Organizer: Sandeep Baliga
Conference Administrator: Denita Linnertz (please contact for hotel reservations or general questions)

PDF of Complete Conference Schedule

Monday, April 25, 2011 - Hardin Hall
12:00-1:30 Lunch  
1:30-2:30 Joan Esteban
Institut d’Anàlisi Econòmica, CSIC, Barcleona
Strategic Mass Killings
(joint paper with Massimo Morelli and Dominic Rohner)
3:00-4:00 Tomas Sjostrom
Rutgers University
The Strategy of Manipulating Conflict
(joint paper with Sandeep Baliga)
4:30-5:30 James Fearon
Stanford University
Arming and Arms Races
7:00 Conference Dinner  by invitation only, rsvp to Denita Linnertz
Tuesday, April 26, 2011 - Scott Hall, Guild Lounge
9:00-10:00 Stergios Skaperdas
University of California-Irvine
Trade in the Shadow of Power
(co-authored with Michelle Garfinkel and Costas Syropoulos)
10:30-11:30 Kris Ramsay
Princeton University
Balancing Against Threats with Moral Hazard (co-authored with Adam Meirowitz and Brett Benson)
12:10-1:10 Daron Acemoglu
(joint Bag Lunch Semniar with Kellogg MEDS, Theory Workshop
Jacobs Center, G05)
History, Expectations and Leadership in the Evolution of Cooperation
(co-authored with Matthew Jackson)
2:00-3:00 Saumitra Jha
Stanford University
Veterans, organizational skill and ethnic cleansing: evidence from the Partition of South Asia
3:30-4:30 Mikhail Golosov
Yale University
A Dynamic Theory of Resource Wars
(Joint paper with Daron Acemoglu, Aleh Tsyvinski and Pierre Yared)

Conference Attendees:

Daron Acemoglu
Sandeep Baliga
Dolors Berga

Brett Benson
Luciano De Castro
Georgy Egorov
Jon Eguia
Roland Eisenhurth
Joan Esteban
James Fearon
Mark Fey
Mauro Gilli
Mikhail Golosov
Bard Harstad
Aviad Heifetz
Florian Herold
Ben Horne
Saumitra Jha
Rahul Mediratta
Kristopher Ramsay
Anne Sartori
Jesse Dillon Savage
James Schummer
Rainer Schwabe
Tomas Sjostrom
Stergios Skaperdas
Xin Sun
Jonathan Weinstein

Jaber Zarezadeh
Weifeng Zhong