Louis Stern Award

Louis Stern

The Louis W. Stern Award, established by Louis W. and Rhona L. Stern in 1999 through the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), recognizes the outstanding article, in a widely recognized and highly respected refereed journal, which has made a significant contribution to the literature on marketing and channels distribution. Named for the John D. Gray Distinguished Professor of Marketing at the J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University, the award is intended to encourage the academic community to continue to produce high quality academic research in the field of marketing channels and distribution.

Stern has been involved in the AMA for decades and has received numerous honors for his exceptional contributions to the marketing community, including 1989 Marketing Educator of the Year and 1994 AMA/Irwin Distinguished Marketing Educator Award. Stern’s individual research efforts have resulted in published articles in a wide array of marketing, legal and behavioral science journals. Stern has also been a consultant to several national companies including IBM, Ford, Hewlett Packard and S.C. Johnson. He hopes that, with the continuous evolvement of the field of marketing this award will help people see how invaluable these individuals’ contributions are to developing the marketing community.

View past winners here.