MBA Operations

Frequently Asked Questions

Kellogg Excellence in Action Awards Ceremony


What are the elements of the Kellogg Excellence in Action Awards Ceremony?
The ceremony is designed to formally and publicly recognize award winners, present them with the awards and showcase their accomplishments.

  • There are six different awards.
  • Four of the awards can be won by an individual administrator, and two of the awards can be won by an individual administrator and/or an administrative team.
  • The awards are aligned to support Kellogg’s strategic plan, core competencies and values.

What are the different awards?

  • The Optimizing Research and Teaching Award (awarded to one administrative team member)
  • The Choy Krieg Family Leadership Award (awarded to one administrative team member)
  • The Choy Krieg Family Kellogg Way Awards (two awards to two administrative team members)
  • The Innovation and Action Award (awarded to one administrative team or team member)
  • The Collaborative Spirit Award (awarded to one administrative team or team member)

What are Kellogg's core values?

  • Committed to excellence
  • Collaborative at our core
  • Reflective about our impact
  • Inspired to always look forward

Who is/is not eligible for awards?
A Kellogg administrative team member must have been employed by Kellogg for at least six months and be in good standing in order to be eligible for an award. “Good standing” means the administrator is not on corrective action and has an acceptable annual performance rating on his/her most recent review.

The Rewards & Recognition selection committee members are not eligible.

How do I know whether or not an administrator is in good standing?
The Rewards & Recognition committee includes a representative from HR, who will confidentially verify this information.  

What will award nominees and winners receive?
Award nominees will receive the following rewards:

  • Invitation to a nominee breakfast hosted by the Senior Leadership Team and the Rewards & Recognition committee immediately prior to the awards ceremony
  • Preferred seating at the awards ceremony

Award winners will receive a range of rewards that include:

  • Significant cash prizes
  • Professional/community development opportunities

How will the awards be distributed?
Nominations will be reviewed by the Rewards & Recognition selection committee. The team has been trained to professionally and properly evaluate each nomination, and will forward the committee’s recommendations to the Senior Leadership Team for review and final approval. The awards will be presented to recipients at the awards ceremony.

When and where will the awards ceremonies take place?
The next awards ceremony will be held May 25, 2016.

Who do I contact if I have questions?
Please direct all questions about the program to Carole Cahill at,
or 847.491.2833 or 847.491.3300.

Nomination Process

Who can nominate individuals for awards?
Anyone can nominate Kellogg administrators for the awards, including administrators, faculty, students, alumni and members of the broader Northwestern University community.

Administrators cannot nominate themselves, nor can relatives of administrators.

Can you nominate a person for more than one award?
Yes. However, an individual can only be selected the winner of one award per calendar year.

How big of a team can you nominate for the awards for which administrative teams are eligible?
Teams eligible for nomination can be small work groups, ranging from two to seven administrators.

Can I choose to remain anonymous if I want to nominate someone?
The Rewards & Recognition committee will need nominators to identify themselves so that the committee can contact them, should the need arise to verify or seek additional information for clarification purposes.

Additionally, all nominators will be invited to a breakfast at the Allen Center the morning of the awards ceremony.

How do you submit nominations?
Nominations can be submitted through the Qualtrics nomination form on the Rewards & Recognition website

When does the nomination process end?
The nomination process for the next awards ceremony closes on Friday, April 22, 2016.

Selection Process

Who is on the review committee?
The Rewards & Recognition committee is comprised of a diverse group of Kellogg administrators who reflect a range of departments, job functions and length of service, among other aspects.

Committee members will serve on a rotational basis each award year. The previous year’s award winners will be automatically eligible to participate on the committee.

How was this committee determined?
Committee members are volunteers in good standing who have demonstrated their continuous commitment to the development of a high quality Rewards & Recognition Program by volunteering and participating in all aspects of the initiative.

Going forward, award recipients will be offered the first opportunity to replace outgoing committee members. The committee is committed to having as diverse a team as possible.

What happens if a committee member is nominated for an award? Would he/she abstain from the selection process? Would his/her nomination influence the committee’s decisions?
Committee members are not eligible to be nominated for the awards.

Can one administrator win more than one award?
In order to ensure we are recognizing and rewarding a diverse range of deserving Kellogg administrators, an individual can only be selected the winner of one award per calendar year.

If only one administrator is nominated for a specific award, will he/she automatically be selected as the winner of that award?
To ensure the quality and integrity of our administrative awards, winners of each award will only be selected if they meet the criteria for the award.

If the administrator I nominated doesn’t win an award this time, will he/she automatically be put in the running for the next awards ceremony? Or, do I have to re-submit his/her nomination?
The criteria used to evaluate each nominee is based on accomplishments and behaviors occurring during the award year; therefore, previously nominated administrators will only be considered for future year awards if a new nomination is submitted.

Will nominees be notified of their nominations?
Yes. We will notify all nominees of their nominations in advance of the awards ceremony.

When will winners be notified?
Winners of each award will be announced at the awards ceremony.